You are here

Magistrate Judge History

By federal statute, Magistrate Judges are appointed by a majority of the U.S. District Judges in each judicial district for a renewable term of eight years. Magistrate Judges must meet specified eligibility criteria, including at least five years as a member in good standing of a state's or territory’s highest court bar. They also must be vetted by a merit selection panel that consists of lawyers and non-lawyers from the community.   Below is a list of the Magistrate Judges who have served or currently serve the Middle District of Tennessee.

Sandidge, Kent III  (1972 - 1995)

Haynes, William Joseph Jr. (1984 - 1999)

  • District Judge (1999 - 2017)

Griffin, Juliet (1995 - 2015)

Brown, Joe B. (1998 - 2006)

Knowles, Emmitt Clifton (2000 - 2016)

Bryant, John S.  (2006 - 2016)

Holmes, Barbara D. (2015 - present)

Newbern, Alistair E. (2016 - present) 

Frensley, Jeffrey S. (2016 - present)