How did you get my name?
The names of prospective jurors in United States District Court are selected at random from both voter registration lists and driver’s license records for each of the counties located within the Middle District of Tennessee.
I don’t live in the county where the Court is held, why was I selected as a prospective juror?
The United States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee is comprised of three divisions: Nashville, Columbia and Northeastern. Prospective jurors are drawn from thirty-two (32) counties in Middle Tennessee. For a map of the Divisions and Counties, click HERE.
How do I “get out” of jury service?
All citizens of the United States are obligated by Federal law to serve as jurors when summoned to do so. However, if you feel you need to be excused and you have a legitimate basis for such a request , you may submit a written request to be excused. Requests to be excused will not be considered unless you have completed the Juror Qualification Questionnaire. This questionnaire may be completed in written form or on line @ www.tnmd.uscourts.gov/ejuror.
Do I have to serve the entire month during which I am summoned?
Prospective jurors are not required to appear for service each day during the summoned month. Jurors are simply “on-call” for the entire month. Most jury trials in this Court begin on Tuesdays. You are instructed to call the Jury Information Line @ 615-736-2790 or 1-800-927-5704 after 5:00 p.m. each Monday during your summoned month for your specific reporting instructions.
You will either get a message that you are scheduled for the following day, or you will get a message instructing you to call the following Monday. It is important to listen carefully to the entire message. You will typically be required to report for jury service only once during your service month.
What should I do if I have a vacation or other appointments scheduled during my term of service?
The Jury Department will be happy to work with you on any previously scheduled travel plans or appointments that you may have. To request an excuse for specific dates, you may mail or fax a written request to our office @ 615-736-5576; you may call our office @ 615-736-5483 or 1-800-927-5704; or you may submit a request on-line @ www.tnmd.uscourts.gov/ejuror.
Will I get paid for jury service?
Jurors who appear for jury service are paid an attendance fee of $50.00 per day. In addition, you will be reimbursed for travel expense at the standard IRS reimbursement rate ($0.65.5 per mile as of 04/24/2023), as well as parking expense not to exceed $25.00 per day. Checks will be issued to jurors twice per month–on or about the 15th day of the month and on or about the last day of the month. Jury checks will be mailed to your home address, so it is important that you keep your address information current with the Jury Department during your term of service.
Will I lose pay or have to use leave if I am required to appear for jury service?
So long as your employer employs five (5) or more persons and you are a regular employee (full-time or part-time), your employer is required by law not only to excuse you from work, but to pay you your usual and customary pay while you are serving as a juror.
If I have to report, how long will I be there?
On the first day that you are asked to report, you will be required to report at 7:45 a.m. The length of time that you will stay will depend upon whether or not you are selected to serve on a jury. In general, jury selection will take approximately half of the day. If you are not selected to serve on a jury, you will be finished for the day and for the week. You will be required to continue calling each Monday after 5:00 p.m. for reporting instructions. However, you will not be asked to report a second time until all prospective jurors in the pool for the month have reported at least once.
If you are selected to serve as a juror, you will be here all day until approximately 4:30 - 5:30 p.m. Thereafter, you will report for jury service each day at approximately 9:00 a.m. until the conclusion of the trial. Once the trial is over, your jury service will be concluded. You will no longer have to call for reporting instructions, nor will you be required to report a second time.
How long do trials last?
The length of the trials will vary. However, on average, jury trials in this Court will last no more than 3 - 4 days. In the event of a lengthy trial, the Court will inquire as to whether the length of the trial will present a hardship or prevent a juror from serving during the duration of the trial.
Is there a dress code for jurors?
There is not a specific dress code for jurors, and business attire is not required. However, you should dress appropriately for Court. This simply means that jurors should dress in a manner that will not distract from the proceedings or show disrespect to the Court. Please do not wear shorts or flip-flops.
Will I be “sequestered” and have to stay overnight?
This should not be a concern for you. Jurors will normally be excused for the day between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m.
I have already served as a juror in State Court. Do I have to serve in Federal Court too?
State and Federal Courts operate separately from one another, so your jury service in one Court does not satisfy your obligation to another. However, if your State Court service is on-going or has been very recent, the Jury Department will work with you so as to minimize the inconvenience to you and/or your employer.
What happens if I don’t report for jury duty?
Pursuant to 28 U.S.C., § 1866(g), “any person summoned for jury service who fails to appear as directed may be ordered by the District Court to appear forthwith and show cause for failure to comply with the summons...” Contempt penalties for failure to comply with the summons may include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, imprisonment of not more than three (3) days and/or community service.